Skip to main content
Frayed Aacta Noms Website V1 848×450


23 October, 2019

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) Award Nominations were announced today.

Included in the nominations was comedy drama Frayed, created by and starring Sarah Kendall, for 5 categories:
Best Comedy Programme
Best Sound in Television for Mark Cornish and Ralph Ortner
Best Original Score in Television for Bryony Marks
Best Production Design in Television for Fiona Donovan
Best Costume Design in Television for Nina Edwards

Sarah Kendall in Frayed

Frayed has only had one episode air in Australia on ABC when these nominations were announced. Episodes 1-4 have aired in the UK on Sky One and the series boxset is on Now TV.

The series follows Sammy, a wealthy London housewife who is forced to return to her hometown in Australia, where she’s forced to confront her past and the reasons that caused her to leave years ago.

As well as being written by and starring Sarah Kendall, the show also stars Diane Morgan, Robert Webb, Kerry Armstrong, Ben Mingay, George Houvardas, Matt Passmore Frazer Hadfield, Maggie Ireland-Jones, Alexandra Jensen and Trystan Go.

The series was directed by Shaun Wilson and Jennifer Leacey and produced by Nicole O’Donohue. The executive producers are Clelia Mountford, Sharon Horgan, Kevin Whyte, Rick Kalowski, Que Minh Luu, Sally Riley and Morwenna Gordon. The series is a co-production between Merman and Guesswork Television.

The AACTA Awards will be announced at two events in Sydney: an Industry Luncheon on Monday Dec. 2, 2019, and the AACTA Awards Ceremony on Wednesday Dec. 4.

Maggie Ireland Jones, Sarah Kendall and Frazer Hadfield in Frayed