Skip to main content
Ed TV Production Company Nomination Website V3


12 June, 2019

The nominations for the 2019 Edinburgh TV Awards were announced today, which included Merman in the nominations for Best Production Company of the Year. The other nominees are CPL Productions, ITN Productions, Studio Lambert, Two Brothers Pictures and World Productions.

Merman was founded in 2014 by award-winning duo Sharon Horgan and Clelia Mountford. In the past year the production company has released There She Goes – winning a BAFTA for Jessica Hynes’ performanceWomen on the VergeCatastrophe Series 4 and an Urban Myth: Andy and the Donald. The fourth and final series of Catastrophe (co-produced with Avalon and Birdbath Productions) also received an Edinburgh TV Award nomination, for Best Comedy Series. The full series is still available to watch on amazon.

There are a number of Merman shows announced to be released, such as This Way Up (created by and starring Aisling Bea), Frayed (created by and starring Sarah Kendall), Motherland Series 2 and Divorce Series 3. Merman’s first feature film, Herself, recently wrapped production.

Having just enjoyed their second anniversary, the Commercials and Branded Content branch of Merman has had a busy year with work completed for the likes of Vauxhall, Aldi, Co-Op, Vitality, Tena and most recently Walkers, directed by MJ Delaney bringing the Spice Girls back to our screens.

Merman’s digitally-focussed arm, Mermade, was set up late last year and signed an exciting first-look deal with Topic to develop and produce premium content for the short form arena.

The 2019 Edinburgh TV Awards will take place at the Edinburgh TV Festival on Thursday 22nd August and will be hosted by comedian Mo Gilligan