Skip to main content
RTS Nominations 2020 Website 848×450


03 March, 2020

The nomination announcement for the 2020 RTS Programme Awards was held this morning at H Club, London. Here it was revealed that Merman shows had been nominated for three RTS Programme Awards.

Aisling Bea in This Way Up

Two out of the three nominations in the Breakthrough Award category went to Merman shows. Aisling Bea was nominated in this category for her performance in This Way Up, a show which she also created and executive produced. This Way Up is a comedy about moving on, moving forward and trying to find happiness. Aine, played by Aisling Bea, is a whip smart English-as-a-foreign language (TEFL) teacher trying to pull her life back together after a “teeny little nervous breakdown”. The entire series of This Way Up is still available to watch on All4.

Tanya Moodie in Motherland

Tanya Moodie was also nominated in the Breakthrough Award category, for her performance in Motherland Series 2. Motherland is a show all about navigating the trials and traumas of middle-class motherhood, looking at the competitive and unromantic sides of parenting – not the cute and acceptable public face of motherhood. Moodie’s character Meg is new to series 2 who seemingly has it all, creating ripples in the already established Motherland. The other nominee in this category is Tim Renkow for Jerk.

Diane Morgan in Motherland

In the category of Comedy Performance (Female) Merman received a nomination for Diane Morgan for her performance in Motherland Series 2. Morgan plays bracingly honest single mum Liz. Also nominated in this category is Phoebe Waller-Bridge for Fleabag and Saoirse-Monica Jackson for Derry Girls.

The winners will be announced at the RTS Programme Awards Ceremony on Tuesday 17th March at The Grosvenor Hotel.